Showing posts with label 10 before 30. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 10 before 30. Show all posts

3.21.2014

Yum yum yum

Yeah, I splurged yesterday on my food. I've been trying to keep it somewhat healthy but mainly kicking out all the snacks and sugars, which has been good until yesterday.


My boss is taking on a new position at a new company, so we celebrated his last day in his honor. Of course, we had to order the best pizza in town, Carbone's! It's so awesome, like the cheese is nice and golden and crust has a crunch. I love that! Well I couldn't just stick to a couple pieces, oh no. Like 5. Ugh... Then of course my coworker brings in her Special K Bars, which hers are seriously the best. They melt in your mouth with their gooey-ness. Yup...I had to have like 3 of those.


And to add on top of that B wanted to take me out for supper (how sweet!) to Agave Kitchen in Hudson. I haven't eaten there in a long time, but I do remember how good their food is! I ate somewhat healthy and got the Southwest Grilled Chicken Burger, which includes homemade guacamole, bacon, habanero jack cheese, and lettuce, with a side of sweet potato fries and Greek lime yogurt sauce. OMG. So good. I ate the whole thing, regardless of it's massive size. B had this awesome triple cheese and bacon burger. That was humongous! He ate that proudly too. So I will have to say, I have to add Agave to my 10 Before 30 list of restaurants to visit.


Tonight I get to hang out with my friend Kory! It's been so long since we've seen each other, possibly over a year, maybe 2? Lordy...I hope it hasn't been that long. She's still up in Fargo getting her Ph.D (she's a go getter), and that's just a long haul to visit for the weekend. But she's home for Spring Break this week! We still haven't made exact plans, but anything goes when she's in town. It's always a blast!


My other girlfriend, Amanda, also received a new position at a new company, and her last day at work was yesterday! I'm so proud of her. She was driving to downtown St. Paul everyday, and that's a jaunt, especially when the weather is crappy, or even when it's not! The traffic is miserable. So now her new position is in Somerset, WI. WAY BETTER commute!!! I made a shadow box craft for her to put on her new desk, which I'll post on my blog once I give it to her. It's so cute! Let's just say I finally got to use my Silhouette Cameo that I got for Christmas! It was so fun!


Well that's all I have for now. Just thought I'd peep in to share some news. Nothing else really going on in my life to share, but hopefully after the weekend I'll have some nice material :)

9.04.2013

Blogtember: Sept. 4th


If you could take three months off from your current life and do anything in the world,
what would you do?
 
 
 
This may sound small, but I would love to actually start and learn how to do all the little hobbies/crafts/Pinterest ideas that I've always wanted to do.
 
 
On my 10 Before 30 List (Check out my tab above), I've always wanted to learn how to play guitar. Now I know 3 months isn't long to learn, but if I could have nothing better to do than learn to pluck some strings, I'd love that!
 
Maybe someday I could be as good as Brad Paisley...hey I can dream!
 
Another item off of my 10 Before 30 list would be to start and finish a t-shirt quilt. I have a lot of memorable t-shirts that are sitting in boxes, just waiting to be cut up and made into an awesome quilt for our new house someday. I even have ideas for the pattern! I love the striped edge on the quilt on the left, but for the inside the right quilt would be GREAT!
 
 
                                        Source                                                                                                         Source
 
Just a couple things that I'd like to do with my spare time of 3 months :) What would you do?
 
 
 
 
 


9.03.2013

This is It

I'm back!!!!

Good lord it's been a long time. I get so caught up reading other people's blogs that I have forgotten about my own! Oh and that darn wedding planning and house buying stuff. That takes a lot of a person's time, I tell ya.

But I have some fun news to share. I'm getting my ass back in gear with losing weight. I've been struggling lately because of the all the stress the home buying process has been causing me, and just life in general. I can't seem to kick my habits of junk food and sitting on the couch.

Luckily, my future SIL, Trista, was kind enough to invite me to join the Border Battle Challenge put on by Victory 4 You in Hudson, WI. It's a virtual challenge made possible by Facebook and TeamBeachBody.com. You essentially have to log all of your workouts on a calendar on the Team Beach Body website, 5 days of the week. Your calendar at the end of the month gets turned into your "coach" and then turns all of your workouts into points. There are 2 teams: The Vikings, and the Packers. Get the Border Battle title now? I have selected to be on the Vikings team, of course, and hopefully we'll do well! There are other sideline ways to earn points, such as posting a challenge picture on Facebook, achieving your goal, and many other ways that will be shared with me along the way. The challenge starts today, September 3rd and goes until November 24th (Vikings vs. Packers game).



I hope this challenge works for me to get going. It's going to keep me accountable because all of these people rely on each other's workouts to earn the points and win the challenge! I really REALLY need to lose this weight for the wedding. I told myself that I'm not trying on wedding dresses until I lose weight, hopefully around 20 pounds. And that's the fun part of the wedding planning! I can't wait to see myself in a beautiful gown.

I have my before pictures finally done. They're not pretty, let me tell you. Ready to rip your eyeballs out? Don't be too scared...here you go:


Before Measurements:

Weight: 244 ( A little heavier than normal; I think it's because of the huge NJ's breakfast and shrimp alfredo that night!)
Waist: 43
Hips: 45.5
Chest: 47.8
Right Arm: 15
Left Arm: 14.8
Right Thigh: 25.8
Left Thigh: 26

Ugh....seeing me like this makes me want to vomit. How I've let myself go the past 5 years. My biggest troubles, if you're too blind to see them, are definitely my inner tube tummy, my back boobs, and a little in my flappers. I've always had broader shoulders, even when I was thinner, so I'm not concerned with that.

Well here goes nothing! Now I have my future SIL and a coworker to keep my accountable and on schedule. I sure hope this helps! Wish me luck!

8.14.2013

The Proposal

Wow! I basically fell off the face of blog world. Sorry about that. I'm so caught up with wedding planning books, magazines, and Pinterest that I can hardly contain myself. We don't even have a date set, and I'm already starting to look at ideas!

So in case you missed it, B proposed to me on July 31, 2013 right at Wefest, the place where we met 5 years ago as complete strangers. I think back and the first thing that I remember him asking me was for my number so that we could meet up after I was done working (I poured beer during the concerts). After giving him my number, he asked what my last name was and I said "Johnson." "No, shit," he replied, being surprised because he is a Johnson himself. And it all started from there.

Well fast forward 5 years, and we arrived at Wefest with our friends and all of our camping gear. I had gotten shirts made for B and I to wear at Wefest to celebrate our 5 years of meeting and being with each other. This is the picture that I had B's cousin create for the shirts:
 
Cartoon versions of ourselves! I absolutely loved it. Well I had shown B the shirts the night, but I still had to show the my girlfriend Amanda that came. So once we were all set up at camp, I brought out the shirts to show Amanda. I basically said something along the lines "These were a surprise for our 5 year anniversary."
 
B, standing next to me, then proceeded with "Well Steph, I have a surprise for you too." That's where I basically went into shock because B rarely does surprises because he's not really the "romantic" type. I turned to him and he sweetly said "Since it's our 5 year anniversary, I felt that it was time to get you something special." Now I'm basically making these words up, because quite honestly, I can't really remember exactly what he said. I was so in shock!!!
 
He then pulled out the box out of his cargo shorts, got down on his knee and asked me to marry him.
 
I still need to get the pictures from Amanda, but boy did I have excitement on my face. I was so excited and happy. I'm an emotional person, so I started crying happy tears after I said yes. I just couldn't believe it. Something that we had both wanted for so long, and we're finally engaged.
 
When B called me his fiance for the first time, I had butterflies fly through me and I teared up again. It's such a wonderful feeling to be loved and wanted like that.
 
We proceeded to call all of our family members, in which all of them were so happy for us. "It's about time!" came up a lot. I just smiled. Yes, it's been 5 years, far too long for some, but they were happy years for us. I wouldn't have it any other way.
 
It was the perfect day for us to wear our new shirts that I got made. B, before the proposal, felt silly to wear matching shirts, but afterwards? He was so proud. He was showing the shirts off to everyone along the way to the concert to start off the announcement that we were engaged. It was fun.
 
Our first picture as an engaged couple!
 
The backs of our shirts. The butt grabbing idea was B's... go figure :)
 
 
So we still haven't picked a date or anything. We're just in the fun stages of enjoying being engaged. I've looked a lot of ideas for wedding venues, colors, and such, but B doesn't want to even look at that stuff yet. He thinks it's funny that I'm so into it. But that's what girls do!!!
 
We're actually in the beginning stages of looking for a house. Another finally! Looking to get prequalified at a few banks to see what their rates compare for us. A few houses came up on the market in the area we want, so we need to get to it!
 
Lots of craziness in our near future, but it's all for the better. I'm so excited!
 
 

8.06.2013

Surprise!

A quick post since I've been gone for about a week. I'm a little busy catching up at work and returning back to reality after being at Wefest.

The best thing that happened while I was gone?

I GOT ENGAGED!!!


B popped the question right at Wefest, where we met 5 years ago. I couldn't have been more surprised or happy. I'm still constantly glancing at my left hand at the beautiful ring he picked out for me (with no help! He just has that great of taste!)

More to come hopefully tomorrow! I'm so happy!!!!

7.19.2013

Weight Loss Wednesday

I know I know. I'm a couple days late on this post. I just got so caught up in my crazy ass schedule, I didn't really get a chance to write about it!

Wednesday I actually wasn't able to make it to the gym because I had a band concert at Como Park Pavilion. Boy was it hot! Thank goodness it was in the shade. Playing the saxophone in nearly 100 degree heat is not my idea of fun.

So I actually weighed myself at the gym yesterday to find that I'm down 2 LBS! Yes, it's not a lot, but I did have a lot of slacking due to weddings, hang out days with my sister, and booze. Ugh. Liquid calories are such a bitch... So I call that a victory.

If you're following me, I'm keeping track of my weight loss on a separate page called Weight Loss Wednesday. I'll be updating, hopefully, every week. My goal is to lose 50 pounds before January 1st! Kind of a lot, but I think I can do it. I have a lot of support with me now that I'm blogging!

I also had an NSV yesterday too! I was able to run my FIRST EVER mile with barely any walking. This might sound absurd to a lot of you, but I've never been able to run a full mile without stopping to either walk, take a break, or what have you. Never been good at running. Well, I pushed myself yesterday on the dreadmill and got this:


I was so happy! Knowing that probably the next time I run I should be able to do it makes me even more motivated to keep running. Hopefully a 5k will be in the nearer future than I thought!

7.01.2013

The Perfect Day

I'm going to copy what Amber at Crafty Healthy Mommy said about today.

Today is MONDAY, July 1ST, and 6 MONTHS FROM NEW YEARS!

It's the perfect day to start over. To regain motivation, to get going on my weight loss plan. It's the perfect day.

I will be retraining myself to track all of my calories of MFP.  Off to a good start so far!

I will not go into eating binges when I'm bored or eat 10+ pieces of chocolate from the dish at work.

I will be keeping myself accountable by going to the gym at least 3 times per week. A walk on my lunch break would be nice too everyday if I can squeeze that in.

I will not be hooked to the TV this summer. I will not have excuses for not being at the gym after work or going for a nice walk after supper.

I will be starting a journal with a measurement and weight log. It's nice to see your progress from week to week and look back on it for some encouragement.

I will not be discouraged when I take before pictures of myself or when I don't see scale movement. The number doesn't necessarily mean you're not losing. I could be losing inches rather than pounds and that's alright with me.

I will be making this change for me so that I can be happy in my own skin. A happier me. A healthier me. A new me.

6.06.2013

WLW #1: Let's Get this Thing Started!

So I made it to the gym last night after work. That was tough. The weather here has been so gloomy, wet, and rainy, that I had no motivation to get going and exercise. I just wanted to curl up in a ball and watch TV all night. Not so for me!

I ran on the elliptical for 45 minutes, which seemed forever the last 20 minutes or so. I wanted to do some strength conditioning, but I was exhausted. Hopefully tonight I can squeeze that in before yoga and STRETCH. I saw a woman running on the elliptical last night who had her feet hanging over the edge of the front of the pedal. Is there a benefit to that? Or is she just being her special own self?

I've noticed I'm very inflexible lately. Not sure if it's because I'm often dehydrated, just not stretching enough, or what. I'm hoping that I can get as nimble as I used to be and be able to do the splits again!

Now for Weight Loss Wednesday, I'm officially just starting...AGAIN. Hopefully I can stick with it again. My starting weight for this adventure is going to be (according to the gym's scale last night):

237

I've been fluctuating between 233 and 237 for quite some time now because I've been doing everything half assed. Eat really good all day, then wolf down a ton of sweets when I get home. Not workout for a week at a time. It just screws up all the hard work you had already put in. Why do I do it? I have no idea. Fear of commitment? Fear of never being able to eat those nummy treats again? Who the hell knows. I think once I actually hit a 10lb milestone, things should click. SHOULD.

B has been getting tiny. He just mentioned that he can now fit into a few of his large tshirts, which I figured was coming because his XL are getting big and frumpy. His pants are just terrible. He has no ass! So come fall, I'll have to buy him some cute ones to flatter his tiny butt :)

Feeling hungry today...ugh that makes a day tough to stay motivated to eat healthy. But I do have a yummy lunch today which I'll post here:

Easy Asian Salad



2 C. Romaine lettuce with carrots and red cabbage
1/8 C. mandarin oranges
1/2 Tbsp. sliced natural almonds
2 Tbsp. Marzetti poppy seed dressing

This salad is SOOOOOO good. Sweet and tangy and only 290 calories for all of it! Of course, there is no meat, but if you choose you could add chicken breast for some protein and make it even tastier! I can't take credit for it, but I'll give credit to my boss' wife :) Thanks!

5.02.2013

Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!

But not in MAY!!!!


For Pete's sake...enough is enough! Minnesota always has crazy weather, but snow in May? It's starting to get old. I don't complain too much about it because there is nothing we can do but live day by day and see what Mother Nature brings us next.



So B and I finally discussed our 10 Before 30 goals for ourselves and each other. I was actually quite surprised by what he had to say! He didn't want me to post them on my blog for privacy reasons, which is fine by me. To say the least, we have a lot in common on what we want to achieve in just 3 1/2 years. Weight loss, career satisfaction, being debt free... I think we've got a good thing going on here :)

He was a little surprised by my goals that I had written for him. "But I'm asthmatic!" "I HATE vegetables." I figured I'd get those responses out of him, but with a little time and some clever thinking, I believe we can do this together. Now his goals for me? Different story...they're more like rules. Can I stick with them? I hope so! One I will share is that he wants me to stick with my goals and actually achieve them, not get halfway there and quit. I'm kind of known for that, so I understand where he's coming from. That's kind of the reason that I decided to do this for each other. Keep each other accountable for their actions and keep each other motivated. Since we know what we want to achieve, it will help build our relationship too to keep each other going and help each other along the way.

I'm excited!